Set in a narrow valley bisecting the granite domes of the Klein Koperberge (small copper mountains), Springbok owes its existence to copper mining undertaken in after 1850 and a ready supply of water. In the late 1870's, rich copper deposits at Okiep saw most Springbok residents following their dreams to drought-stricken claims. Many returned. Across the town square, at the famous Springbok Lodge, photographs adorn the walls. A fascinating collection of mineral samples and semiprecious stones are showcased. Easy access, excellent accommodation and a well-developed commercial infrastructure makes Springbok an essential tourist stopover.
Tourist information: Springbok Regional Tourism Office, Tel: (027) 7122011.
Activities and Attractions:
Blue Mine Springbok’s first, includes a walking trail offering view of the town from its western outskirts.
Dutch Reformed Church (or Klipkerk). The Church was built in 1921.
Mineshaft Dug in 1685 on Simon van der Stel’s instructions (east of Spring, at Carolusberg).
Monument Koppie Town Centre. Wrested from the British by Boer forces, commemorates the Anglo-Boer War (1899-1902). Tel: (027) 7122071.
Namaqualand Museum In the old synagogue. Tel: (027) 7122071.
Namastat Stay a while in a traditional, dome-shaped reed hut (matjieshuis). Tel: (027) 7122435.
Namakwa 4x4 Route Starting at the picturesque Pella Mission Station, the Namakwa Route follows the Orange River 642km to the sea. It offers the 4x4 adventure of a lifetime. You’ll cross Namaqualand Brokenveld, False Succulent Karoo, Arid Karoo, Western Mountain Karoo, Succulent Karoo and Sandveld. There are three routes lasting 2-8 days. Tel: (027) 7122011.
Orbicule Hill West of Concordia (22km north-east of Springbok), it contains orbicular diorite, previously only found in Scandinavia.
Smelting Furnace To the north of Springbok, a national monument, unused since 1871.
Spinning and Weaving On display at Komaggas, 50km along the Kleinzee road.
Synagogue Completed in 1929 and now used as the Namaqualand Museum. Tel: (027) 7122011.
War Graves With those of mining pioneers dating back to1860, they lie in a cemetery on the Kleinzee road.